What makes night within us – may leave stars ⭐️

I have  recently perambulated my way around the Parisian art galleries. Having recently explored the Labyrinthine myth of Ariadne and Theseus , one of my most favourite myths often revisited,  I wasn’t really surprised when  I kept noticing the presence of the Cretan Minotaur – real name Asterion meaning “starry one”. This was due mostly to the artworks of the great bull himself – Pablo Picasso. “If all the ways I have been along were marked on a map and joined up with a line, it might represent a Minotaur.”

My recent print shows my Minotaur sitting in the middle of the labyrinth awaiting my arrival. The herb growing from the walls is called “Self-Heal”….and the words written high up in the starry sky were penned by Victor Hugo in his novel 93 …… the words have nothing to do with the myth ….but …to me it says all I want to say about my Minotaur. ⭐️

Asterion - The Minotaur meaning "starry one"

Asterion – The Minotaur meaning “starry one”

Asterion (v) - The Minotaur meaning "the starry one"

Asterion (v) – The Minotaur meaning “the starry one”

( a variant of this print run …which ran away with me !)

“Would you believe it, Ariadne? The Minotaur scarcely defended himself.” – the end of the story known as “The House of Asterion” by Jorge Luis Borges

About redseedsgatherer

Linda Hill
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What makes night within us – may leave stars ⭐️

  1. rose cook says:

    Absolutely fantastic, thank you. Love the Borges quote too xx

Leave a Reply

