Every year I celebrate and honour the eight festivals that make up the Celtic Wheel of the Year. I may celebrate with others or sometimes honour a festival in a more solitary reflective way. This year as part of my honouring I have decided to make a print for each festival .The Four Seasons are known as Solar Festivals, in that they mark a seasonal change caused by the Sun. The cross quarter days are marked by Fire Festivals and are usually celebrated as significant agricultural festivals. These eight  Festivals of the Wheel Of The Year represent nature, humanity and agriculture.  From planting to reaping to winter to summer… the seasons were of great importance to our ancestors, for their very existence depended upon good harvests, mild winters, enough rainfall. Bringing awareness of this great circle to our lives keeps us in touch with nature and the cycle of life . There will be eight prints in this series ….and although the Celtic year starts the day after Samhain on November 1st ..I started this project at Imbolc….Febuary 1st.  All prints are for sale please email me if you wish to purchase….linda.hill@virgin.net

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s